Forestry Executive Committee Meeting

Friday, December 6, 2013 Richardson Hall 115 8:00 a.m. – 9:30 a.m.

NOTES

Attending: Roger Admiral, John Bliss, Paul Doescher, Kathy Howell, Claire Montgomery, Jim Johnson, Jeff Morrell, Ann Mary Quarandillo, Steve Fitzgerald, Robin Rose

Absences: Jo Albers, Zak Hansen, Thomas Maness, Laurie Schimleck, Steve Tesch, Randy Rosenberger

Guest: Darrell Ross

Meeting Chaired by Jim Johnson Notes by Nathalie Gitt

Agenda Review and Suggestions for Additional Items

• Health and Safety Committee Issue

Update and Conversation

- Geoff Huntington is scheduled to give a recap on the Peavy Hall renovation at the upcoming Faculty Departments' meetings.
- Steve Fitzgerald reported on the Mixed Conifer Science Policy Workshop he attended as a panelist on December 4-5 in Pendleton. The workshop brought together scientists and policy makers together. The draft synthesis paper has been made available online.
- Dr. Greg Latta, candidate for the Starker Chair position was being interviewed on Friday, December 6. His seminar was rescheduled to be held before the University early closure due to the weather alert.
- Thomas was in Portland on Friday, December 6 for a keynote address at the Portland Wholesale Lumber Association luncheon.

CoF Policy Delineating Expectation for Corvallis Campus Resident Faculty

Claire Montgomery led a discussion regarding Becky Warner's recommendation for the College of Forestry to develop a policy regarding resident faculty wishing to permanently relocate and perform essential job functions from a remote location. Claire was seeking for FEC's alignment for the appropriate content for the policy. The FEC recommended the crafting of a narrow focused policy on resident campus teaching.

Claire will draft an addendum to the College of Forestry teaching policy to define resident teaching expectation and obligation. She will bring this item back for further discussion at the next FEC meeting.

Calls for Awards Nominations

Jim Johnson reminded the Department Heads to remind the faculty of the ongoing Dean's Award call for nomination and led a discussion to align FEC on a process for arriving at nominations for two other University awards:

- Distinguish Professor Call for Nomination Deadline: January 17, 2014
 FEC made some recommendations for nominating several individuals. Claire
 Montgomery and Robin Rose will take the lead for putting forward a nomination.
 Nathalie Gitt will send the list of past recipients to the FEC.
- 2) Faculty Awards Solicitation Deadline: February 11, 2014 Nathalie Gitt will forward the past tracking records to help prepare for the upcoming discussion. The committee decided to bring this item back at the next FEC meeting to decide on an approach for this year and to vet potential names.

John Sessions and Steve Tesch are working on the IUFRO Country Scientific Achievement Award nomination.

Board of Visitors Action on Peavy Hall Renovation

Geoff Huntington will report back on the November 22nd BOV meeting regarding renovation of Peavy Hall at the next FEC meeting.

Health and Safety Committee Issue

Jeff Morrell raised the issue of safety violation, potential fines, and the need for a re-assignment of new members on the Health and Safety Committee.

The FEC recommended the reconstitution of the committee; have faculty participation empowered by the Dean and mandate compliance. A follow-up discussion will be scheduled on the next FEC agenda.

Meeting Handouts

Agenda Distinguish Professor Call for Nomination – Nathalie Gitt Faculty Awards Solicitation – Nathalie Gitt